Heirloom Tomatoes & Mini Pasties It Is!

Nothing is more exciting than officially crossing a decision off our list. I might even count this as our most exciting item, as the food was the very first thing I started thinking about.

I’m just going to say it: I love food. I love big, bold flavors from juicy, seasonal, colorful ingredients. What’s more, I wanted our menu to not only be fresh, beautiful and delicious, but also creative, interesting and a true reflection. My biggest fear was that for reasons of budget or availability or something else, I’d feel like we were compromising on the food. OK, so my biggest fear is actually the reoccurring dream I keep having that it’s time to walk down the aisle and I’ve forgotten to brush my hair or put on makeup. But from a planning perspective, I’m pretty focused on the food.

We’re pleased to announce that the caterer we’ve selected is not only dedicated to fresh, local, healthy ingredients, but they presented us with a Michigan-themed menu that is fun, creative and downright delightful. 2 Unique Catering is out of Royal Oak. We kind of had a feeling they were going to be our favorite right away when we visited their website and read, “We Believe in Michigan” at the top of their page. Hey! We believe in Michigan too!

See? Best caterer tagline ever!

We just had a tasting at 2 Unique this week. We sampled Sweet Meadow Greens salad, hearth-baked break, Traverse City Chicken Roulades and salt-roasted fingerling potatoes. Oh, and a delightful samples of desserts. Our verdict? Well, I may or may not have eaten most of the salad myself and had to resist picking up the chicken dish to lick the amazing shallot reduction sauce off the plate. And I don’t even eat chicken.

Here's a sampling of what we'll be eating on our wedding day. Chicken roulades on the left and fingerling potatoes on the right. There used to be salad on the plate in the background...

The fingerling potatoes were perfectly roasted and seasoned. The chicken was actually stuffed with a center of cherries, spinach and topped with wild mushrooms. Vegetarian or not, I picked nearly every mushroom from the top of he pile of chicken and ate them. Yum, yum and yum.

And it gets even better. The words, “Summer Heirloom Tomatoes with Balsamic Drizzle” actually make me tear up a little bit. I’m a little emotional about tomatoes. And if heirloom tomatoes make me cry, capers make me giggle. I’m super pumped to eat this meal.

Here is the entire proposed menu:

Cocktail Hour Appetizer
Perogies
• Cheese & Potato
• Sauerkraut

Made in Michigan Dinner Station One

  • Traverse City Chicken Roulades
    • Dried cherries, spinach and wild mushrooms
  • Quinoa Bake
    • Sliced Eggplant, Spinach, Portabellas, Capers, Olives
    • Placed on a light tomato sauce
  • Linguini Pasta with Greens
    • Asparagus, peas, broccoli, snow peas, zucchini tossed in a light vegetable cream sauce
  • Hearth Baked Breads & Rolls

Made in Michigan Dinner Station Two

  • Sweet Meadow Greens
    • A kaleidoscope of young organic greens tossed with fresh sliced strawberries, slivered peaches, walnuts, julienne cucumber and our champagne vinaigrette
  • Celebration of Summer Heirloom Tomatoes
    • Balsamic drizzle
  • Petite Beef Pasties
    • Ground Beef, potatoes and onions simmered in fresh herbs folded in pastry dough baked until golden brown
  • Fingerling Potatoes
    • Salt Roasted

Who’s hungry?

This entry was posted in Food, Michigan Vendor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heirloom Tomatoes & Mini Pasties It Is!

  1. Suzy says:

    Jared’s response to this post was ‘Yes!!’ really loudly and in a 90’s Saved by the Bell type of style. He is very excited…I am too!

  2. Alisa says:

    This sounds so amazing!

  3. andrea says:

    Do we get to go to both dinner stations? I don’t think I could decide….

Leave a Reply

