Michigan Made Wedding Dress?

It’s wedding dress time!

Or at least it’s time to start considering wedding dresses, and starting down the long and tumultuous road of finding the right one. I started this adventure like I begin all tasks, by Googling it. Here’s what I found when I Googled “Michigan Made Wedding Dress”:

"Toilet Paper Wedding Dress Competition Winner Announced." It is notable that the toilet paper dress contest was won by a Michigander. Go us!

Suffice it to say that if the Huffington Post’s toilet paper wedding dress contest story was the only relevant result, Michigan made wedding dresses aren’t exactly easy to come by. Most wedding dresses are made in China, and then they still cost a bazillion dollars, so I can’t even imagine how much a dress made in the US would cost. In order to both fulfill our desire to shop local and not go bankrupt, I’m going to begin by picking local dress boutiques to visit and worry about the details later.

As of now, the plan is to go on at least two day trips, one in the Lansing area, and another in Metro Detroit. Because I know Lansing better and already have a list of places I want to go, our first appointment is to shop around there this month. Here are the places on my list so far:

Lett’s Bridal in Lansing

I interviewed the owner of Lett’s for a story recently and was absolutely charmed by his story. He’s the nephew of the original owner who opened the boutique something like 80 years ago. How much do you love that? Plus, it’s carpeted and you have to take your shoes off at the door.

Fantastic Finds in Lansing

I already know this place is awesome and adorable. My best friend got her dress here and not only was the staff great, but it’s this great big house with dresses scattered all over the place. Every time you turn a corner there’s a new cluster of them on these fun dressmaker dummies. I’m a little giddy about this one already.

J’s Tux & Bridal in Owosso

I love J’s! I used to work in Downtown Owosso, right next door to J’s. They are fantastic window dressers, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t have more than one wedding dress fantasy while walking to work. And it’s right next door to the yummies at The Bake Shop!

Sequels Consignment Boutique, Williamston

Here’s another thought on keeping things local: how about preventing another wedding dress from shipping in from China by getting one that’s been used before? I’ve heard Sequels has a classy assortment of consignment dresses, so I’m eager to take a look. I’m also a bit of a consignment shoppaholic, so I’ll be right in my wheelhouse.

So that’s what I have for now! Any other suggestions for Lansing-area shops or ideas for the upcoming Metro Detroit trip?

This entry was posted in Dress, Michigan Places, Michigan Vendor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Michigan Made Wedding Dress?

  1. Jill Ess says:

    I too am looking for a Michigan-made dress. When do you plan to do a day trip in Detroit? I’m in Metro Detroit so that is where I will be shopping.

Leave a Reply

